Halloween and Christmas

Im surprised that many of my atheists friends (of the non-vociferant clade) celebrate All-Hallows-Eve and Xtmas. I find this inconsistent and somehow irrational.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Halloween and Christmas”

  1. NotAScientist Says:

    Why? I celebrate Halloween and Christmas. I celebrate both in completely secular ways. They’re both good enough excuses to have fun and spend time with people you love.

  2. artikcat Says:

    do you go and visit religious monuments and churches ? if you didi it would be inconsistent with the view of how idiotic religions are and that those arebuilidngs to idicocy? the same thing with celebrating hollidays that are deeply associated with religious traditions ( and dont give me the line about halloween NOt being a religious tradition, in its origins)

  3. NotAScientist Says:

    “do you go and visit religious monuments and churches ? ”

    Sometimes, yes. Particularly when visiting other countries. A lot of the architecture is stunning.

    “if you didi it would be inconsistent with the view of how idiotic religions are and that those arebuilidngs to idicocy?”

    Two things classical religions got mostly right: architecture and music. I enjoy both quite a bit.

    “the same thing with celebrating hollidays that are deeply associated with religious traditions ( and dont give me the line about halloween NOt being a religious tradition, in its origins)”

    Why do the origins matter to me? I could just as happily celebrate any number of harvest festivals in place of Halloween, and Saturnalia in place of Christmas, and it would be exactly the same. I have no harvest to bring in, and I don’t believe in the Roman god Saturn…but so what? Both are good excuses to have parties. And I only involve myself in the non-religious traditions associated with those holidays anyway.

Leave a Reply

