Hitchens and the Jefferson wall (of separation)

In a letter to the Atheist Convention CH ends:

…”.. As the heirs of a secular revolution (sic), American atheists have a special responsibility to defend and uphold the Constitution that patrols the boundary between Church and State. This, too, is an honor and a privilege. Believe me when I say that I am present with you, even if not corporeally (and only metaphorically in spirit…) Resolve to build up Mr Jefferson’s wall of separation. And don’t keep the faith. Sincerely. Christopher Hitchens…”

To what Thomas Jefferson answers: The legitimate powers of government extend to such acts only as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbour to say there are twenty gods, or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

